House Members Return to Conclude the 2015-16 Session;Republican Caucus to Choose Leaders for 2017-18 Session
HARRISBURG – Fresh off last week’s election victories, House members return to Harrisburg today to take the final votes of the 2015-16 legislative session and hold caucus elections for leadership during the next session.

At 9:30 a.m., the 122 Republican members, including returning incumbents and newly elected members-elect, will meet in the Majority Caucus Room to choose their leadership team for the 2017-18 legislative session. The results of the closed-door caucus will be released as a whole following the elections for majority leader, majority whip, caucus chairman, caucus secretary, caucus administrator, Policy Committee chairman and Appropriations Committee chairman. In addition, the caucus is expected to nominate Speaker Mike Turzai (R-Allegheny) for a second term as speaker.

Majority Leader Dave Reed (R-Indiana County), Majority Whip Bryan Cutler (R-Lancaster County), Policy Committee Chairman Kerry Benninghoff (R-Centre and Mifflin counties) and Caucus Secretary Donna Oberlander (R-Clarion/Armstrong/Forest counties) are running unopposed.

The new House Republican Leadership team will hold a brief media availability following the elections to introduce themselves as a new team to the media. The availability will be outside the Lt. Governor’s Office on the Rotunda balcony. The time will be determined by the election.

Representative Mike Turzai
The Speaker
28th District
@RepTurzai / /

Representative Dave Reed
Majority Leader
62nd Legislative District /

Pennsylvania House of Representatives
Media Contact: Stephen Miskin
717.772.9943 (office), 717.756.3936 (cell)
@SAM1963 /
Share |