119 Strong House Republican Majority Chooses 2015-16 Leadership Team
HARRISBURG – The 119 members of the incoming Pennsylvania House Republican Caucus today elected Rep. Mike Turzai (R-Allegheny County) as their choice for speaker of the House of Representatives and Rep. Dave Reed (R-Indiana County) as majority leader for the 2015-16 legislative session.

Today’s caucus election comes eight days after Republicans increased their majority from 111 members going into Election Day to 119 members, retaining control of the state House for the third consecutive session.

Turzai and Reed were elected as part of today’s reorganization session of the Republican Caucus. The formal election for speaker will take place in the full House when the 2015-16 session begins on Jan. 6, 2015. Republicans hold a 119-84 majority in the state House.

“Leadership is moving a principled agenda forward, and our caucus has led and been the driving force behind commonsense policies which are bringing positive change to Pennsylvania,” Turzai said. “Being recognized and chosen by my colleagues to be speaker of this historic institution is a high honor and one not taken lightly.”

“With a 119-member majority, the House Republicans are ready to confront the many challenges facing our Commonwealth,” Reed said. “As we have in the past, we will again offer bold and rational solutions to address the issues and problems Pennsylvanians are facing.”

The Republican leadership team includes:

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE DESIGNEE: Rep. Mike Turzai (28th District, Allegheny County) is ending his second term as majority leader. He was first elected to the House in 2001 and previously served as whip during the 2009-2010 legislative session. In 2006, he was elected Republican Policy Committee chairman.

MAJORITY LEADER: Rep. Dave Reed (62nd District, Indiana County) was first elected to the House in 2002. He is currently serving his second term as the Policy Committee chairman. Reed has also served as chairman of the House Republican Campaign Committee since 2009.

WHIP: Rep. Bryan Cutler (100th District, Lancaster County) was elected to the House in 2006. Today’s election marks Cutler’s first time in a leadership position.

APPROPRIATIONS CHAIRMAN: Rep. William Adolph (165th District, Delaware County) was first elected to the House in 1988. Today, he was elected to his third full term as chairman of the House Appropriations Committee.

CAUCUS CHAIRMAN: Rep. Sandra Major (111th District, Susquehanna and Wayne counties) was first elected to the House in 1994. She was re-elected to her fifth term as caucus chairman.

POLICY COMMITTEE CHAIRMAN: Rep. Kerry Benninghoff (171st District, Centre and Mifflin counties) was elected to the House in 1996. He currently serves as the chairman of the House Finance Committee, chairman of the Cancer Caucus, and chairman of the Rural Health Caucus.

CAUCUS ADMINISTRATOR: Rep. Brian Ellis (11th District, Butler County) was elected to the House in 2004. Today’s election marks his first time in a leadership position.

CAUCUS SECRETARY: Rep. Donna Oberlander (63rd District, Armstrong, Clarion and Forest counties) was elected to the House of Representatives in 2008. Oberlander is currently a deputy whip, chair of the House Gas and Oil Caucus, and chair of the House Diabetes Caucus.

Adolph said, “Pennsylvanians can be assured, working with the Senate and governor, the House Appropriations Committee will keep its focus on effectiveness of state programs and whether they match their intent.”

“House Republicans will continue to work enacting policy aimed at improving the communities and lives of Pennsylvanians,” Reed said.

The elections took place today in the House Republican Caucus Room in the Main Capitol Building. The 22 newly elected Republican members who will begin their terms in January participated in the balloting. Members who are leaving office did not participate in the election.

Representative Mike Turzai
Majority Leader
28th District
Pennsylvania House of Representatives

Media Contact: Stephen Miskin
717.772.9943 (office), 717.756.3936 (cell)
@SAM1963 / smiskin@pahousegop.com
@RepTurzai / RepTurzai.com / facebook.com/RepTurzai
Share |